Nights in Rodanthe (2008)

Oregon Inlet Coast Guard Station, Northern end...

Oregon Inlet Coast Guard Station, Northern end of Pea Island, East side of State Roa, Rodanthe vicinity (Dare County, North Carolina) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I did not know I am a Nicholas Sparks fan, since this is his 3 1/2 adapted films that I saw. I wrote about Dear John(2010) http://wp.me/p29qZb-6e already, and I have the same thing I want to say. The first half was really good, and the second half was just too sappy for me. I guess almost operatic. I like Richard Gere in this film, he shows us more than the usual Gere, that Gere’s look (angry, pouting, eyes narrowing) and walk (Shoulders up, light on feet but confident,..). I guess this was Lane and Gere reunion after Unfaithful (2002).

The film is about a chance meeting between Adrienne Willis(Diane Lane) and Dr. Paul Flanner(Richard Gere). Adrienne is the substitute B & B hostess, while Paul is the catch by the ocean, no, it’s more like the only guest. Paul is there to redeem his soul, and Adrienne is there to do some soul-searching. Paul’s patient died on the surgery table and he is out here to talk to the husband, despite he had the chance at the hospital. Of course, he is suing him for malpractice. Adrienne has been separated for 8 months, dealing with every aspects of her kids’ lives as a mommy. Her husband, Jack Willis(Christopher Meloni) wants her back and apologizes for everything he did wrong.

As with Dear John(2010) one man and a woman, a beach home B & B , hurricane, dinners, storm, wasted, blackouts, breakfasts, regrets, emotional diarreha, all within three days. Yes, it means they fall in love!

Magically, they feel renewed after those days together. Paul goes to find his son in Ecuador, and Adrienne back to her domestic life. Love letters, of course… Dear Paul, Dear Adrienne…

Oh well, it gets sappy as I say, you can line the dots!

The first half was great, it seemed to work between Lane and Gere, and that’s all I will say.

Rent. Wives’ll like it.

Leave a Reply

