The Cabin in the Woods (2011)

Ju-on

Ju-on (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay, there are a lot of hypes about how good, how clever, how original this film is.   To a certain extent I concur, but I didn’t feel wow when I came out of the movie theatre. Perhaps, I am never a big fan of horror films has to do with it?

We have all seen the trailer, so nothing there to talk about. The premise is pretty apparent, five college students heading to a weekend of explorations, and depend which one you ask, each has his/her own agenda. We get to know Dana(Kristen Connolly), Curt(Chris Hemsworth), Jules (Anna Hutchison), Marty (Fran Kranz), and Holden(Jesse Williams) quickly as the heroine, jock, whore, stoner, and nerd. We also meet Sitterson(Richard Jenkins) and Hadley(Bradley Whitford), who we know from the trailer as the technicians, who have panels of buttons to push, and monitors to survey.

From there you can derive how the story being told. You bet, part of it is like  voyeuristic TV shows: Survivor, Big Brothers, Jersey Shore,… Instead of human dramas, we have human + horror + comedy dramas on a global competitive scale.

I know the film is trying to be bigger than life, and tries to be metaphoric, or not… I just didn’t get the AHA moment. (Now I remember, I should have stayed until the full credits roll is finished. I guess I have to wait till the DVD comes out to watch that part. But I bet nothing will add to my AHA anyway).

I will wait till it hits the DVD shelf, and RENT!

Leave a Reply

