Moneyball (2011)

source:IMDb

source:IMDb

What are the odds?! I have little interest neither in baseball nor in most of Brat Pitt’s films, yet I find this one very engaging; I believe him playing Billy Beane, so now I am interested in knowing more of Billy Beane and his story. For me, that’s a successful movie, and actor.

There is no point for me to regurgitate what has already been written in Wikipedia about Moneyball, the term, and the book by Michael Lewis, here I am focusing only on the movie and the actors.

The winning recipe is how one guy, Billy Beane (Brad Pitt), accepts defeat and turns things around with what he has (no money), and at the same time  challenges the status quote. That being those experts who think they know the game, and discredit everything they fear. It boils down to what one believes: logic vs. emotion. In other words, it is no different from the players in stock markets; either you pick a stock to buy based on emotion-tech stock, or historical performance-bluechip.

Peter Brand(Jonah Hill) represents science and the future, and Billy see the potential, because he knows the game really well or perhaps he is desperate. At times, you think his drive for change coming from being a failed player, but here Brad Pitt sold me and showed me that Billy is more than his bruised ego, or wants to prove a point that talent scout is as good as horoscope or dice-rolling, cause they promised him to be the greatest 5-tool ball player, but it didn’t materialize.

It was very entertaining and educational watching the power struggle between Billy and the coach, Art Howe(Philip Seymour Hoffman), and how Billy uses his power of trading free agents to manage an ego-driven coach! Once again, Pitt sold me on this helping me to grasp the complexity in simple terms.

In between the struggle to get the Oakland A’s back to its winning streak, it has a mild subplot of his relationship between he and his daughter, Casey Beane(Kerris Dorsey); it is not too sappy, but just the right amount.

I thought this would be one of those loud, ego-driven, “Show me the money” kinds of film, but it wasn’t. I was glad I saw it.

WATCH!

Leave a Reply

